July 19, 2012

A post script

Posted in Miscellany, Writing at 12:00 pm by Emilia Philips

A dear friend just started a private blog and I had to log into WordPress to view it, which entailed visiting Write Bailiwick for the first time in years.  It makes me consider starting a new blog.  Some days I miss writing.  I miss the craft and the small joys of finding the right words, especially the right verbs.  (I am proud, though, that my new place of work regularly uses the term “bailiwick” in division of labor discussions, which I think originated with me.)

As I look over the old posts, I realize a new blog would be very different.  For example, I didn’t own chickens in 2008 and I probably never thought I would own chickens.  Chicken stories are probably more amusing than random words and legal musings.  The tone of the older posts also lacks authenticity and maturity: qualities that I still lack, but at least am more consciously working towards.  My role model would be here.

Of course, there are plenty of reasons not to start a blog.  I don’t need something else tugging me towards the internet.  I don’t have a name for the blog. (“Aiming for Purgatory”?  A bit dour.  “One Farmer’s Wife”? Taken.)  It would need photographs and I don’t get along well with my camera.

If anyone is reading out here in cyberspace, what do you think?

Leave a comment